orange iconOperational Response Level: Restricted ›
Learning Technologies

Learning Technologies

News

LEARN – Changing a Course Image

August 9, 2017

Changing a Course Image

An image will be automatically assigned to each course in LEARN as it’s created, you are able to personalize any course that you are the instructor or developer in by changing that image and even uploading your own custom image.

  • Find the course who’s image you would like to change. Hover over the course’s existing image and click the “…” icon (1), then click “Change Image” (2)

Changing a Course Image;Find the course whos image you would like to change. Hover over the course's existing image and click the "..." icon (1), then click "Change Image" (2)

  • Type the topic you wish to search for an image in (1) and click “Enter”. Select the image you wish to use by hover over it and click “Use this Image” (2).
  • If you wish to upload an image that you have taken, or is free of copyright restrictions click “Upload” (3).

Click on "Chrome Legacy Window" pane;Type the topic you wish to search for an image in (1) and click "Enter". Select the image you wish to use by hover over it and clicking "Use this Image" (2). If you wish to upload an image that you have taken, or is free of copyright restrictions click "Upload" (3).

  • Clicking to upload an image will bring you to the Course Offering Information portion of your course. You can also access this page by entering the course, clicking “Edit Course”, and “Course Offering Information”.
  • To upload your own copyright free image click “Browse” (1) and follow the prompts. You can even add this image as a banner across the course home page by clicking “Display the image in a banner…” (2)

;Clicking to upload an image will bring you to the Course Offering Information portion of your course. You can also access this page by entering the course, clicking "Edit Course", and "Course Offering Information". To upload your own copyright free image click "Browse" (1) and follow the prompts. You can even add this image as a banner across the course home page by clicking "Display the image in a banner..." (2)


Video Description:

With the addition of the course tiles in the “My Courses” widget, you are able to change the image that is displayed.

To access the captioning for this video:

  • Move your mouse to the lower right side of the video window.
  • Click the menu item represented by three dashes
    Example Image of video options menu
  • If captions are available, click “Show Subtitles”
    Example of the Show Subtitles option on Sharestream video

Copy Components from Another Course/Master

August 9, 2017

Copy Components from Another Course/Master

If you have developed content in a development MASTER you can easily copy it into your course shell for delivery.

 

Copying Content (written guidelines):

  1. Enter your Course
  2. Click “Edit Course” in the upper right hand corner

  3. Click “Import/Export/Copy Components
  4. Click “Search for Offering
  5. Enter the name of the MASTER and click search.
  6. Select the MASTER you would like to copy from
  7. Click “Add Selected
  8. Click “Copy All Components

Follow the prompts, and your content will have copied from the MASTER to the live course delivery.

 

To access the captioning for this video:

  • Move your mouse to the lower right side of the video window.
  • Click the menu item represented by three dashes
    Example Image of video options menu
  • If captions are available, click “Show Subtitles”
    Example of the Show Subtitles option on Sharestream video

LEARN – Updating LEARN logo for Custom Nav bar

August 9, 2017

This video will show how to update the LEARN logo from a white low contrast version to the correct green LEARN logo. This will only effect courses with custom navbars that existed prior to the new daylight interface.

Respondus LockDown – new features and changes – late May 2017

May 30, 2017

LEARN is removing the “LockDown Browser” option from the “Restrictions” tab in the Quiz settings. Instead, the LDB (LockDown Browser) will now be configured either from the Quiz tool main menu (“LockDown Browser” tab) or by creating an external link to the LockDown Browser Dashboard. This change also brings a new feature which allows students the ability to launch the LDB from the quiz start area.

To configure a quiz to use the “LockDown Browser” follow these steps:

1. Under the “Assessments tab” select “Quizzes”

2. Click on the “LockDown Browser” tab

Picture1

3. Pick a quiz that requires the LockDown Browser, then select from the dropdown “Modify Settings”

Picture2

4. Choose the Require Respondus LockDown Browser for this exam” to unlock the LockDown Browser settings.

Picture3

5. You will also have the ability to pick more advanced settings.

6. When you are satisfied with your selections click “Save and Close” at the bottom right.

You have now setup the quiz to use the “LockDown Browser”.

As well, students now have the ability to launch the “LockDown Browser” from the start of a quiz:

1. When the student selects a quiz that is setup to use the “LockDown Browser” they will see the “Launch LockDown Browser” button at bottom of the quiz start page.

Picture4

2. The “Launch LockDown Browser” button will check to see if the user has the LockDownBrowser installed and will prompt them to install it if they haven’t already.

Contact LEARN Support if you have any questions regarding the changes. (learn@rrc.ca)

Video:

LEARN – Gradebook – The Final Adjusted Grade

March 22, 2017

Transfering Grade to Final Adjusted

The final adjusted grade can be used to modify the final grade and drop grade items for recalculation.

  • To access, click “Assessments” (1) and “Grades” (2)

Transfering Grade to Final Adjusted;Final adjusted grade can be used to modify the final grade and drop grade items for recalculation. To access, click "Assessments" (1) and "Grades" (2)

  • Scroll to the “Final Adjusted Grade” and click its menu button (1), next click “Enter Grades” (2)

;Scroll to the "Final Adjusted Grade" and click it's menu button (1), next click "Enter Grades" (2)

  • Click the menu item beside “Final Grades” (1) to access the bulk actions for your gradebook.
  • “Recalculate All” allows you to drop grade items from the final grade calculation (if using gradebook categories your final grade will still sum out of 100% as it redistributes the grades weight within the category).
  • In most cases, you will want to transfer the calculated grade to the adjusted grade column using “Transfer All” (2).

;Click the menu item beside "Final Grades" (1) to access the bulk actions for your gradebook. "Recalculate All" allows you to drop grade items from the final grade calculation (if using gradebook categories your final grade will still sum out of 100% as it redistributes the grades weight within the category). In most cases you will want to transfer the calculated grade to the adjusted grade column using "Transfer All" (2).

  • You can manually adjust grades in the “Final Adjusted Grade” column (1), and recalculate individual users grades by clicking the calculator icon (2).

;You can manually adjust grades in the "Final Adjusted Grade" column (1), and recalculate indevidual users grades by clicking the calculator icon (2).

  • If recalculating a users grade you will be able to select all grade items (1), select or deselect individual items (2), and once done “Calculate” (3) to make the change.

;If recalculating a users grade you will be able to select all grade items (1), select or deselect individual items (2), and onse done "Calculate" (3) to make the change.

  • In some cases you may wish to release a final grade for the students in LEARN. To do this click the “Release/Unrelease” (1) option.
    Note: you may wish to review/adjust your gradebook settings by running the gradebook setup wizard before releasing the grades. The setup wizard will allow you to choose the calculated or adjusted final grade for release.
  • When everything is as you want it, click “Save and Close” (2).

;In some cases you may wish to release a final grade for the students in LEARN. To do this click the "Release/Unrelease" (1) option. Note: you may wish to review/adjust your gradebook settings by running the gradebook setup wizard before releaseing the grades. The setup wizard will allow you to choose the calculated or adjusted final grade for release. When everything is as you want it, click "Save and Close" (2).

Video:

Description:

The final adjusted grade in LEARN allows you to re-calculate the final grade based on different criteria for your class, or an individual student as well as override the calculated final grade.