Research and Innovation Day

Hosted by the Nursing Department (School of Health Sciences and Community Services)

Friday February 8th 2019 / 8am-3:30pm

South Gym, NDC

Students and faculty will lead presentations and scholarly discussions that showcase innovative research and evidence-based projects.

The goal of this Research and Innovation Day is to advance research and scholarship by:

  • Providing faculty and students with a forum to disseminate their scholarly achievements.
  • Bringing faculty and students together for joint learning opportunities, collaboration, and scholarly discussion.
  • Further developing foundational attitudes and skills for scholarship as a basis for professional practice.

Call for Abstracts

The call for abstracts is now closed. Thank you to everyone who submitted.

Registration

There are no conference fees to participate in or attend Research and Innovation Day. Conference attendance is limited to current students and faculty of programs within the School of Health Sciences and Community Services.

Registration for Research and Innovation Day is now closed. If you are planning to attend but have not registered, please email Meagen Chorney at machorney@rrc.ca.

There is an expectation that all Nursing faculty and students will attend. You can still sign-in at the registration table on February 8th even if you did not pre-register. Only registered students will be guaranteed a grab bag.

Program-at-a-Glance

For the schedule of Research and Innovation Day, check out our Program-at-a-Glance!

For detailed information on each presentation, check out our Full Program!

Keynote

Dr. Lynda G. Balneaves, RN, PhD
 
Dr. Balneaves is an Associate Professor in the College of Nursing, Rady Faculty of Health Sciences at the University of Manitoba. Previously, she has held academic positions at the University of Toronto and the University of British Columbia. Her research program has focused on the use of complementary therapies in the context of cancer and the development and evaluation of knowledge translation and decision support interventions for individuals living with cancer and oncology health professionals. She also engages in health policy and access research related to medical and non-medical cannabis. Currently, Lynda is the President of the Society for Integrative Oncology (SIO) and is Deputy Director of the Canadian Consortium for the Investigations of Cannabinoids (CCIC).

Lunch

Exhibitors

Association of Registered Nurses of Manitoba – https://arnm.ca/

Clinical Nurse Specialists of Manitoba Interest Group – http://www.cnsmb.ca/

Manitoba Gerontological Nursing Association – http://www.mgna.ca/

Manitoba Healthcare Providers Network – http://www.mhpnetwork.ca/

Manitoba Institute for Patient Safety – https://mips.ca/

Manitoba Renal Program – http://www.kidneyhealth.ca/wp/

Safe Work Manitoba – https://www.safemanitoba.com/Pages/default.aspx

Unimor Healthwear and Homecare Products – http://www.unimorhealthwear.com/

Sponsors

Coffee Break

Manitoba Nurses Union – https://manitobanurses.ca/

Student Awards

Winnipeg Regional Health Authority – http://www.wrha.mb.ca/

Door Prizes

Elsevier – https://www.elsevier.ca/ca/

Equilibrium Massage Therapy & Wellness Centre – http://www.eqwellness.ca/

Manitoba Canola Growers – https://canolagrowers.com/

Manitoba Egg Farmers – http://www.eggs.mb.ca/

Manitoba Pork – https://www.manitobapork.com/

Modo Yoga Winnipeg – https://winnipeg.modoyoga.com/

Red River College Campus Store – https://bookstore.rrc.ca/

Red River College Students’ Association – https://www.rrcsa.ca/

Spa Botanica – https://spabotanica.ca/

Unimor Healthwear and Homecare Products – http://www.unimorhealthwear.com/

Refreshments

Dairy Farmers of Manitoba – https://www.milk.mb.ca/

Old Dutch Foods – http://www.olddutchfoods.com/ FB- /olddutch / Instagram- @old_dutch_canada

Grab Bags

Canadian Nurses Protective Society – https://www.cnps.ca/

Heart & Stroke Foundation – https://www.heartandstroke.ca/

Past Conferences

Research and Innovation Day 2018
Research and Innovation Day 2017
Research and Innovation Day 2016

Additional Information

For more information about Research and Innovation Day, please contact Karla King at kking@rrc.ca or 204.632.2580