orange iconOperational Response Level: Restricted ›

Academic News

Red River College Nursing Department Awards Presentation 2018

October 4, 2018

 Congratulations To This Year’s Award Winners

Jean Burrows Scholarship – Machaela Cavanagh Jean Burrows was the Nursing Department Chair from 1974 to 1998, and upon her retirement, this scholarship was created for a first year student recognizing their outstanding academic achievement.

Bernice Parrott Award – Nicole Bouckley, Madeline Gylywoychuk-Winkler, Chelsea Jamieson-Wind, Jorrel Marasigan, Clinton Bayas, Danielle Lewicki, Jennifer Barron, Jessica Bonni : This award was established to provide financial assistance to deserving students entering their second or third year in the BN program, to recognize their hard work and efforts.

Nursing Students Endowment Scholarship – Cassie Oliver, Chris Hofer, Martina Persian, Natasha Kuchta : This award was established from students who, in 1997 as part of their tuition fees, contributed to this endowment fund.  In 2001, a portion of the money was dedicated to the creation of this award.  The class of 2002 also made a sizable contribution from their own fundraising efforts.

Nursing Legacy Award – Leah Cooper, Kayla Smith, Taylor Bahniuk, Tess Hamilton, Danielle Lewicki, Heidi Doerksen, Anna Nikitin, Jodie Shepit, Kristina Gillich : This award recognizes outstanding clinical performance of students in years one to three. A student in Nursing Techniques 3 is also recognized for excelling in both their academic and skill performance, while the Health Assessment award recognizes a student who has outstanding academic achievement in both Health Assessment courses.  This award was established by combining sources from the Stanton Family, the Duncan Family, and Phyllis Aaron, along with the Nursing faculty.

Thorey Johnson Nursing Award – Tracy Clifton, Breanne Dobson, Rebecca McLachlan : In honor of their mother, Mrs. Johnson’s daughters have established this scholarship for a nursing student who has expressed a special interest in rural nursing practice.

Nursing Leadership Award – Jason Juell, Britta Hoogervorst (was unable to attend) :
This award is for deserving students who have gone above and beyond in support and leadership of their peers. This award was established by the awards committee, with nominations from faculty and peers.

Discipline of Professional Nursing Award – Emma Collins, Rachel Rubin, Ashley Desrochers : This award is presented to students for their outstanding achievement in the courses of Discipline of Professional Nursing 1-5.

Mary Langhan Nursing Award – Shelby Marks : This award is  presented to a third year student who has demonstrated a high level of skill in the clinical setting and has expressed a special interest in obstetrics and gynecology.

Karla Ferens Memorial Entrance Award for Health Care Aide – Hailey West, Keyona Tomiuk, Phyllis Kelly (was unable to attend) This award recipient has displayed the same accomplishments exhibited by Karla Ferens: involvement in sports and leadership qualities.  Karla was a 2011 RRC graduate of the HCA program.

Community Service Award – Alisha Rana, Jodie Shepit : This award is presented to second and third year students who have volunteered for a community agency while maintaining sound academic achievement.

Karen Wall Indigenous Nursing Student AwardKarla Gladu : This award is presented to a third year student of Canadian Indigenous heritage who has achieved academic success in the BN program and has demonstrated leadership within the Indigenous community.

Elizabeth Scaife Memorial Award – Jana Te : This award is presented to a BPIEN (Bridging Program for Internationally Educated Nurses) student who demonstrated outstanding academic and clinical performance.

Nursing Student International Education Award – Alycia Dettman, Caitlyn Edwards : This award recognizes those who pursue educational opportunities internationally while completing their nursing program.


Written and Photos by Jennifer Johnson – Nursing Lab Manager

with descriptions of awards courtesy of the Nursing Awards Committee