Health Sciences

RRC Nursing Awards 2020

February 4, 2021

Congratulations to this year’s award winners! It’s been another different year to say the least and we weren’t able to celebrate as usual with our luncheon, but none the less, the awards were celebrated virtually and in spirit and were well deserved!

The Association of Registered Nurses of Manitoba Medal of Excellence Award – Machaela Cavanagh : This award was established for a graduating nursing student with the highest cumulative GPA and has excelled clinically throughout their program.

Machaela Cavanagh

Jean Burrows Award Scholarship – Haley McKay : Jean Burrows was the Nursing Department Chair from 1974 to 1998, and upon her retirement, this scholarship was created for a first year student recognizing their outstanding academic achievement.

Bernice Parrott Award – Hailey Campbell, William Gibson, Jalen Roldan, Shannon Bianca Hiebert Sawatzky, Chelsa Chernoff, Rex Gonzales, Kowthar Mohamed, Jessica Woloshyn : This award was established to provide financial assistance to deserving students entering their second or third year in the BN program, to recognize their hard work and efforts.

Hailey Campbell

Shannon Bianca Hiebert Sawatzky

Chelsa Chernoff

Rex Gonzales

Kowthar Mohamed

Jessica Woloshyn

Nursing Students Endowment Scholarship – Emma Collins, Machaela Cavanagh : This award was established from students who, in 1997 as part of their tuition fees, contributed to this endowment fund. In 2001, a portion of the money was dedicated to the creation of this award. The class of 2002 also made a sizable contribution from their own fundraising efforts.

Emma Collins

Machaela Cavanagh

Nursing Legacy Award – Jamie Harland, Michaela Miller, Samantha Thompson, Johanna Toews, Emma Collins, Machaela Cavanagh, Karli-Anne Berezowski, Sydney Plett, Haley Mckay, Kirsten Yaholkoski : This award recognizes outstanding clinical performance of students in years one to three. A student in Nursing Techniques 3 is also recognized for excelling in both their academic and skill performance, while the Health Assessment award recognizes a student who has outstanding academic achievement in both Health Assessment courses. This award was established by combining sources from the Stanton Family, the Duncan Family, and Phyllis Aaron, along with the Nursing faculty.

Jamie Harland

Machaela Cavanagh

Karli-Anne Berezowski

Emma Collins

Kirsten Yaholkoski

Michaela Miller

Thorey Johnson Nursing Award – Melanie Edwards, Jason Juell, Kayla Smith : In honor of their mother, Mrs. Johnson’s daughters have established this scholarship for a nursing student who has expressed a special interest in rural nursing practice.

Nursing Leadership Award – Michaela Miller, Amy McDonald : This award is for deserving students who have gone above and beyond in support and leadership of their peers. This award was established by the awards committee, with nominations from faculty and peers.

Amy McDonald

Michaela Miller

Discipline of Professional Nursing Award – Nicole Bonenfant, Jorien Friesen, Rachel Hotson : This award is presented to students for their outstanding achievement in the courses of Discipline of Professional Nursing 1-5.

Mary Langhan Nursing Award – Britainnie Pillar : This award is presented to a third year student who has demonstrated a high level of skill in the clinical setting and has expressed a special interest in obstetrics and gynecology.

Britainnie Pillar

Karla Ferens Award – Tylar Ehlan Takvam, Angelina Perea Rodallega : This award recipient has displayed the same accomplishments exhibited by Karla Ferens: involvement in sports and leadership qualities. Karla was a 2011 RRC graduate of the Health Care Aid program.

Tylar Ehlan Takvam

Community Service Award – Sarah Fordham, Ryan Penner : This award is presented to second and third year students who have volunteered for a community agency while maintaining sound academic achievement.

Ryan Penner

Karen Wall Indigenous Nursing Student Award – Lauren Thompson : This award is presented to a third year student of Canadian Indigenous heritage who has achieved academic success in the BN program and has demonstrated leadership within the Indigenous community.

Elizabeth Scaife Memorial Award – Ramanpreet Kaur Kainth : This award is presented to a BPIEN (Bridging Program for Internationally Educated Nurses) student who demonstrated outstanding academic and clinical performance.

Ramanpreet Kaur Kainth

Written by Jennifer Johnson – Nursing Lab Manager
with descriptions of awards courtesy of the Nursing Awards Committee