orange iconOperational Response Level: Restricted ›

Health Sciences

Celebrating Excellence Luncheon 2017

October 12, 2017


 Red River College Nursing Program Awards Presentation 2017

Congratulations To This Year’s Award Winners

Jean Burrows Scholarship  – Cassie OliverJean Burrows was the Nursing Deptartment Chair from 1974 to 1998 and, upon her retirement, this scholarship was created for a first year student recognizing their outstanding academic achievement.




Bernice Parrott Award – Bhavjot Khosa, Shelby Marks, and Candace Blahey: This award was established to provide financial assistance to a deserving student, after term six in the BN program, to recognize their hard work and efforts.

Nursing Students Endowment Scholarship – Natasha Kuchta, Britta Hoogervorst, Allison Kiziak, and Laura Byman: This award was established from students who, in 1997 as part of their tuition fees, contributed to this endowment fund.  In 2001, a portion of the money was dedicated to the creation of this award.  The class of 2002 also made a sizable contribution from their own fundraising efforts.

Nursing Legacy Award – Cassie Oliver, Michelle Queau, Jennifer Ruchkall, Bridget Burns, Heidi Doerksen, Alexa Fraser, Allison Kiziak, Dallas Peters-Wieler, and Laura Byman: This award recognizes outstanding clinical performance of students in years one to three. A student in nursing techniques 3 is also recognized for excelling in both their academic and skill performance.  This award was established by combining sources from the Stanton Family, the Duncan Family, and the Phyllis Aaron Family along with the Nursing faculty.

Thorey Johnson Nursing Award – Amy LaBrash, Stacey O’Hanley, and Maryna Navrotska: In honor of their mother, Mrs. Johnson’s daughters have established this scholarship for a nursing student who has expressed a special interest in rural nursing practice.

Nursing Leadership Award – Jodie Shepit and Paige Procter:
This award is for deserving students who have gone above and beyond in support and leadership of their peers. This award was established by the awards committee, with nominations from faculty and peers.

Discipline of Professional Nursing Award – Laura Girard, Natasha Kuchta, and Angela Simeonidis: This award is presented to students for their outstanding achievement in the courses of Discipline of Professional Nursing 1-5.


Mary Langhan Nursing Award – Brittany Clark: This award is  presented to a third year student who has demonstrated a high level of skill in the clinical setting and has expressed a special interest in obstetrics and gynecology.

Karla Ferens Memorial Entrance Award for Health Care Aide – Taylor Violet NaultThis award recipient has displayed the same accomplishments exhibited by Karla Ferens: involvement in sports and leadership qualities.  Karla was a 2011 RRC graduate of the HCA program.

Community Service Award – Tracy Clifton and Yael Gelfman: This award is presented to second and third year students who have volunteered for a community agency while maintaining sound academic achievement.

Karen Wall Indigenous Nursing Student AwardBrittany Chartrand: This award is presented to a third year student of Canadian Indigenous heritage who has achieved academic success in the BN program and has demonstrated leadership within the Indigenous community.

Kathleen Elizabeth Scaife Memorial Award – Aleli Carandang: This award is presented to a BPIEN (Bridging Program for Internationally Educated Nurses) student who demonstrated outstanding academic and clinical performance.






Written by Jennifer Johnson

Nursing Lab Manager