Academic News

Sprint to Innovate – And The Winner Is…!

April 13, 2022

Sprint to Innovate – The Innovation Challenge presented by City of Winnipeg was a great success.  Student teams worked on their chosen challenge from Friday, April 8 to Sunday, April 10.  Each team was given 7 minutes to present the solution to their challenge.

Our judges, Wendy Yan (Futurpreneur), Brent Wennekes (Protein Industries), Tyler Gooch (City of Winnipeg), and Lawrence Lazarko (formerly Manitoba Public Insurance) had a tough decision deciding between the 17 teams that would win our four prizes.

This event was established by Tech Manitoba, RRC Polytech, and the University of Winnipeg’s Faculty of Science.

Here are the winning teams:

FIRST PLACE – North Latin Friends 2.0

City of Winnipeg – Voter Participation Challenge
Mentor: Palmer Rouse
Winning: $6000

Students from RRC Polytech
Dulce Rocio Medrano Jimenez Jose Luis Loja Hoyos
Gustavo Lara Alvarez Rodrigo Sanchez
Jose Juan Flores Ortez Victoria Llumiquinga Zaldumbide



RRC Polytech – Cyber Security Challenge
Mentor: Drew Carmichael
Winning: $3000

Nitin Kumar Patel – RRC Polytech Shaylyn Pelikys – University of Manitoba
Randeep Virk – RRC Polytech Urim Iyasere – University of Manitoba



My Student Wellbeing Challenge
Mentor: Mike Tutthil
Winning: $2000

Students from University of Manitoba
Afsane Baghestani Soheil Changizi
Hossein Abedi Mohammadreza Makhan
Pouya Aghahoseini  


FOURTH PLACE – The Study Group

RRC Polytech – Cyber Security Challenge
Mentor: Marcus Jungbauer
Winning: $1000

Students from RRC Polytech
Bradley Anderson Julian Macaraeg
Camilo Lucero Paul Villas
Jerico Parajas Rafael Lee


Thank you to our wonderful mentors who supported the student teams throughout the weekend:

Mentor Organization
Drew Carmichael Iron Spear
Jordan Brauer NeoFinancial
Steve Lawrence Red River College Polytechnic
Alanna Holowinsky Red River College Polytechnic
Lindsay Smith Red River College Polytechnic
Mike Tutthill Red River College Polytechnic
Andrea McCann-Suchower Red River College Polytechnic
Jose Lopez Bueno Red River College Polytechnic
Jon Ziprick Red River College Polytechnic
Blake Podaima Virtuistix
Leanne Jones Wawanesa
Andrew Stevens Payworks
Hernan Popper Popper Cybersecurity
Derek Ward Payworks
Amanda Evenson Red River Financial
Palmer Rouse Red River College Polytechnic
Marcus Jungbauer Mandient
Alex Gilmer Bit Space Development
Jenna Hnatishin MB Tech Accelerator


Thank you to our challenge representatives who worked to create challenges and help to answer questions throughout the weekend.

Representative Organization
Adam Gerhard RRC Polytech – Cyber Challenge
Neil Fogg RRC Polytech – Cyber Challenge
Tyler Phill My Student Wellbeing
Kirk Johnson RRC Polytech – Blended Learning
Man Doan City of Winnipeg – Public Feedback
Glen Cottick City of Winnipeg – Voting
Luke Buckberrough Neo Financial
Karen Kabel RRC Polytech – Internet of Things
Laura Lazo Manitoba Women in Ag and Food


A special thank you to our keynote speaker Sean Rayland from Red Rebel Armour for helping to inspire the students as they started the competition. Thank you to Matt Schaubroeck from ioAirFlow for teaching our students how to do their final pitch presentations. Thanks to Al McLeod and Leanne Jones, our innovation experts, for developing our resource kit and providing innovation training to help our students keep on track. Al McLeod also provided support to our mentors.

Thanks to our sponsors we had $12,000 in award money to give our winning teams!

Thank you to our title sponsor, City of Winnipeg; and our event sponsors Payworks, InVision Edge, CIPS Manitoba, BHER, Riipen, Western Financial Group, RRC Polytech, and the University of Manitoba – Faculty of Science.

One student commented “It pushed my boundaries and let me grow more as a person.  I can feel more confident pitching, working in teams and presenting.”

Congratulations to all of our teams, mentors, and challenge reps on a great job!  We look forward to our next Sprint to Innovate in the fall.


Title Sponsor

Event Sponsors

RRC Polytech campuses are located on the lands of Anishinaabe, Ininiwak, Anishininew, Dakota, and Dené, and the National Homeland of the Red River Métis.

We recognize and honour Treaty 3 Territory Shoal Lake 40 First Nation, the source of Winnipeg’s clean drinking water. In addition, we acknowledge Treaty Territories which provide us with access to electricity we use in both our personal and professional lives.

Learn more ›