orange iconOperational Response Level: Restricted ›

Part-time and Online Education

ConEd instructors celebrated at annual appreciation reception

May 25, 2017

Between them, they have a combined 32 years of experience as instructors for Red River College’s School of Continuing Education.

And this year, they find themselves the very worthy recipients of ConEd’s Teaching Excellence Awards, presented annually to those who demonstrate innovative and effective teaching practices, a willingness to assist and mentor students, and an appreciation for (and response to) diversity among students.

Debbie Phythian, 2017 Teaching Excellence Award winner

The first of this year’s winners, Debbie Phythian, has taught ConEd’s Aboriginal Child Care post-diploma certificate for more than two decades.

A dedicated mentor who is student-centric in her approach, Debbie is known for going above and beyond to ensure her students get the most from their learning experiences.

For their part, students tend to appreciate how quickly Debbie responds to their questions and concerns, and how committed she is to providing helpful and informed feedback on their assignments and their progress.

“She is passionate about the program, the content and her students — and it shows,” according to her nominators.

Amanda Simpson, Program Manager of IT and Professional Studies, and Steve Thompson, 2017 Teaching Excellence Award winner

Fellow recipient Steve Thompson has been a Project Management instructor (in IT and Professional Studies) for the last 12 years, and has been instrumental in the development of the Project Management Fundamentals course content.

He’s also developed a reputation for always putting his students first — finding ways to adapt his teaching methods to best reach them, and regularly updating content to ensure it’s relevant and easy to follow.

“Steve further enriches the learning for students by drawing on his vast experience leading and working in project teams,” according to his nominators.

Thompson holds a Project Management Professional (PMP) designation from the Project Management Institute, and has served on the board for PMI’s Manitoba chapter of which he is still a member. He graduated from ConEd’s Digital A/V Production program in 2010.

See the photos of the 2017 Instructor Appreciation Reception here.

Long Service Certificate of Appreciation Recipients:

10 Years:

  • Peter Awender
  • Marco Corda
  • Jason Deprez
  • Andrew Dolhy
  • Christel Dyck
  • Angela Hanischuk
  • Jeff Henry
  • Bryan Laurie
  • Kenneth Malczewski
  • Dennis Nikkel
  • Mark Queen
  • Susan Sydorchuk
  • Jason Taylor
  • Timothy Wall

20 Years:

  • Anne Grewar
  • Joseph Hoskins

30 Years:

  • Roger Fitch

45 Years:

  • Linda Ament