orange iconOperational Response Level: Restricted ›


Second-year Students Receive Animal Health Technology Awards

December 6, 2011

Congratulations go out to the nine students in Red River College’s Animal Health Technology program who received the following awards, scholarships and bursaries after completing the program’s first year:

  • Julie Edmonds: First Year Performance Award (worth $250; awarded to a student who demonstrates academic proficiency and technical abilities during their first year of studies).
  • Rachel Harms: Manitoba Animal Health Technologist Association Award (worth $200; awarded to the AHT student with the highest academic standing after completion of their first year).
  • Sophie Rey: Manitoba Veterinary Medical Association Bursary (worth $300; awarded after completion of first year).
  • Kendall Young: Manitoba Veterinary Medical Association Scholarship (worth $300; awarded after completion of first year).
  • Marnie Elgar: Purina Student Achievement Award (worth $500; awarded by Nestle Purina PetCare to the overall top student in both skills and academics following completion of first year, and completion of the “Daily Nutrition Matters” online course.)
  • Cynthia Tonn & Susan Hepburn: Barbara Nagler Memorial Bursary (worth $1,750 and $1,250, respectively; awarded to AHT students with a demonstrated financial need and volunteer spirit, who complete first year with a minimum 3.0 GPA).
  • Heather Mays & Vanessa Geirnaert: Sophie Katarynych Award (worth $600 each; awarded to two AHT students who demonstrate financial need and academic success after first year).

Click here for more information on RRC’s Animal Health Technology program.