Set up Versioning

When you enable SharePoint versioning on a library or list, you are able to track and manage your information as it changes. Versioning will retain changes made to your files. For example, if an older version is more accurate than the current one, you can choose to recover it. Versioning is turned off by default.

NOTE:

  • You must either have full control or design permissions in order to enable versioning.
  • Stores versions that may be needed for audit purposes or for legal obligations.

Set up versioning in libraries and lists

NOTE: The following directions are the same for a library or list. The images in Step 2 demonstrate how to access versioning in each, but the rest of the images and instructions are the same for both.
  1. Open the library or list where you would like to enable versioning.
  2. On the Library tab, click Library Settings.

    OR
    On the List tab, click List Settings.
  3. Under General Settings, click Versioning settings.
  4. On the Versioning Settings screen, you can choose from several options including the following: Content Approval, Document Version History, Draft Item Security, and Require Check Out. After you make all of your choices, click OK.

Preview and restore version history

  1. Open the library or list where you would like to preview or restore a version.
  2. Hover the mouse cursor next to the file, and then on the Files tab, click Version History.

    The Version History listing will open for that file.
  3. Hover the mouse cursor over the version that you would like to restore, click the drop‑down menu, and then click Restore. Your restored file will become the current version.

← Back to Team Sites (SharePoint)