orange iconOperational Response Level: Restricted ›

Health Sciences

Nursing Program Awards 2015

October 8, 2015

Red River College Nursing Program Awards Presentation 2015

Congratulations To This Year’s Award Winners

Group PictureAllison Hay

Jean Burrows Scholarship  – Allison HayJean Burrows was the Nursing Dept. Chair from 1974 to 1998 and upon her retirement this scholarship was created for a 1st year student recognizing their outstanding academic achievement.

Nursing Students Endowment ScholarshipEmily Lapp, Candace Plett, ashley, EmilyAshley Jahns, Candice Plett, Kari Feilberg : This award was established from students who, in 1997 as part of their tuition fees, contributed to this endowment fund.  In 2001, a portion of this money was dedicated to the creation of these awards.  The class of 2002 also made a sizable contribution from their own fundraising efforts.emily and Kaitlin

Bernice Parrot Award – Emily Taylor, Kaitlin Nakonechny : This award was established to provide financial assistance to a deserving student after term six in the BN program to recognize their hard work and efforts.

NursMiranda Martensing Legacy Award- Jackie McAuley, Miranda Martens, Shannon Gray, Erin Dahl, Melissa WalkerVictoria CaVictoriammarata, Candice Plett, LaDawn Dyck, Melissa indexWalker, Starr Wiebe:

This award recognizes outstanding clinical performance of students.Shannon Gray





Thorey Johnson Nursing AwardHelene Kreker : In honor of their mother, Mrs. Johnson’s daughters have established this scholarship for a nursing student who has expressed a special ihelene Krekernterest in rural nursing practice.Laurie Chan

Nursing Leadership Award – Laurie Chan, Jennifer Russell :
This award is for deserving students who have gone above and beyond in support and leadership of their peers. This award was established by the awards committee, with nominations from faculty and peers.

Discipline of Professional Nursing Award – Alexa Fraser, Emily Lapp, Darlene MDarlene Mary Jacksonary Jackson : These awards are presented to students for their outstanding achievement in the courses of Discipline of Professional Nursing 1-5.

Starr Wiebe

Mary Langham Nursing Award – Starr Wiebe : This award is  presented to a 3rd year student who has demonstrated a high level of skill in the clinical setting and has expressed a special interest in obstetrics and gynecology.


Community Service Award – Tricia Tyerman, Meagatricia tyermennMeagan McRae McRae :
This award is presented to second and third year students who have volunteered for a community agency while maintaining sound academic achievement.


Karen Wall Aboriginal Nursing Student Award Jennifer Russell :This awardJennifer Russell is presented to a 3rd year student of Canadian Aboriginal heritage who has achieved academic success in the BN program, and has demonstrated leadership within the Aboriginal community.