orange iconOperational Response Level: Restricted ›


Construction and Engineering students honoured at annual awards reception

December 3, 2015

MET Awardees

Students from Red River College’s School of Construction and Engineering Technologies were honoured at this year’s Technology Awards Reception.

Held Nov. 26 at the Notre Dame Campus, the annual event drew donors, staff and students from the College’s Electrical, Mechanical and Civil Engineering Technologies programs. The reception is held in November to mark National Technology Month in Canada.

Over the years, the event has expanded from 62 awards to 113; this year’s totalled $125,400. As always, awards and scholarships are based on a range of criteria, including academic excellence, strong work ethic, leadership qualities, and active involvement in the community.

Keep reading for a sample of this year’s winners, or see the full list.

CTTAM Group Picture 2Certified Technicians and Technologists Association of Manitoba Scholarships:
L-R: Terry Gifford (Executive Director, CTTAM), Taylor Joel Hankelman, Sarah Nicole Graham, Gregory Rennie, Bob Okabe (Registrar, CTTAM)

Paul Charette Entrance Award - Peter Sawyer Neufeld, Bradley Klassen, Jenny Peters, Mason Matthes, Loren FriesenPaul Charette Entrance Awards for Civil Engineering Technology and Construction Management:
L-R: Paul Charette (donor), Bradley Klassen, Peter Sawyer Neufeld, Mason Matthes, Loren Friesen, Jenny Peters, Gerri Charette (donor)

WCA Construction Mangement Awards - Sameer AShraf, Holly Kjear, Brian Tran, JJ Brandon CampbellWinnipeg Construction Association Construction Management Awards for Continuing Students:
L-R: Peter Withoos (Chair, WCA), Ron Hambley (Executive Vice-President and COO, WCA), Holly Kjear, J.J. Brandon Campbell, Sameer Ashraf, Brian Tran

MET AwardeesMechanical Engineering Awards (mixed):
L-R: Devon Whidden, Cory Jason Bravo, Joshua Hans-Frederick Brand, Taylor Henkelman, Aveline Faye Franciso, Christine Bruneau, Matthew Kevin Wiebe, Scott Andrew Mackenzie