An Outlook credential prompt is a window that opens repeatedly and requests that you input your College log on credentials. The reason for receiving this prompt is due to Outlook searching for SharePoint team sites that originally contained a go.rrc.ca (GO) URL link, but they now contain a new teamsites.rrc.ca URL link.

Although the GO sites no longer work, your system may still be trying to connect to them from your SharePoint Lists in Outlook. The only way to stop this prompt is to remove the SharePoint team sites with GO addresses from your SharePoint lists in Outlook.

To fix your Outlook credential prompt issue, follow these steps:

  1. In Outlook, click the File tab.
  2. In Backstage view, click Account Settings, and then select Account Settings in the drop‑down menu.
  3. On the Account Settings menu, click the SharePoint Lists tab, and you will see one of the following formats in the Parent Site column:
    • A URL link to a team site that contains the go.rrc.ca or mysite.rrc.ca domain. Refer to Step 4 to remove these links.
    • A team site name, which includes any list that you may have in your Outlook folder. Refer to Step 5 to remove these links.
  4. If the URL to the site appears in the Parent Site column, click the list that you want to remove to highlight it, click Remove, repeat as many times as needed to remove all the sites with go.rrc.ca and mysite.rrc.ca domains, and then click Close when you are done.
  5. If the team site name appears in the Parent Site column, click the list to highlight it, and then click Change to review URL link.
  6. On the SharePoint List Options menu, in the Location field, confirm that the URL link contains the go.rrc.ca or mysite.rrc.ca domain, and then click Cancel to return to the Account Settings menu.
  7. On the Account Settings menu, click the list that you want to remove to highlight it, click Remove, repeat as many times as needed to remove all the site names that contain the go.rrc.ca or mysite.rrc.ca domain, and then click Close when you are done.
IMPORTANT: When the Account Settings menu opens, it defaults to the Email tab. Do not highlight your email address and click Remove here. Doing this will remove your entire email profile, and you will lose access to your College email account. If this happens, please create a Case Log to have IT Solutions recreate your email profile.

← Back to Help Resources